Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews] | [View ALL reviews]
 Value for Money  3.4
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.3
 Location  3.9
 Security & Safety  3.5
 Service & Staff  3.3
 Food / Dining  3.1
 Total  3.6

"Central location cozy housing"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Joeff M. of New Orleans, United States
Reviewed:   November 2, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel consist of just one flat, so it is confortable and cozy. Great atmosphere, cool place to meet people. The beds are soft and straight as my back needs. The staff was really nice. but i can say that much for the hostel. it was close to the train station and the colosseum.. The cleanliness was high and Walter had a very long shift of 16 hours while i was there was very helpful and nice. The staff made hot smelling coffee and breakfast!! Thx Walter!!

"the location is good"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   JING A. of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 23, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
the location is good

"Walter is great!!!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Valery A. of new york, United States
Reviewed:   August 1, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was really pleased with Walter and pleasantly surprised with my first experience of hosteling. I found the staff very approachable, the rooms clean and the location ideal for people who want quiet rooms to sleep in,to see the main attractions of Rome and the surounding area. The road is directly opposite the piazza vittorio and although may seem a little daunting it is well worth staying at. Breakfast was more than adequate to set you up for the day . We were early to bed and was rarely disturbed by others coming into the room, I would definitly reccommend staying there and I will be going back when I return to Rome but staying a little longer.Walter is great ,helpful and kind.

"My comments on Walter Guest House"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Jayjay A. of Manila, Philippines
Reviewed:   August 1, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The pictures of the rooms at Walter Guest House are not what they appear to be. Much is to be desired. Walter (I assume the owner) is most impolite and rude. He keeps on shouting. Is there an aircondition? Yes there is but he wants his guests to put it on only at 10 PM and shut it off at 12 midnight. So stupid and arrogant. The bathrooms are clean but very small. Udaya (the Sri Lankan who takes care of the house) is a kind and understanding man. His companion Lachmi is likewise a very good and hardworking Sri Lankan. The only impolite person is Walter. He takes advantage of you if he has the chance. Beware of him. He is what we call in the Philippines an "estafador". I repeat: beware of WALTER.

"good stuff"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Erin G. of Wisconsin, United States
Reviewed:   July 13, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff was very nice and helpful. The space seemed a bit cramped at first but we adjusted to it very quickly and found it quite like home and comfortable. The breakfast had great options and hours. The kitchen was available for cooking food from the grocery store which is just down the road. Very easy access to the metro.

"Walter Guest House"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Francis P. of Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   May 18, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2010     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Le personnel etait tres devoue. Il y avait un manque d'organisation car j'ai change de chambre une fois et ma copine a du demenage 2 fois. On manquait aussi d'espace dans les aires communes.

"unorganized, not professional but still very nice at the end"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Lu A. of Roma, Italy
Reviewed:   April 13, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2010     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Not too well organisied, little space at the entrance where guests are welcome and where the breakfast takes place.
Some rooms are big and nice. Many things are old and don´t work well. Big plus is a hairdryer in every bathroom-thanx for that. It´s quite tidy and staff ist friendly. For breakfast only sweat stuff. I would have liked fruit (apple).

"Walter Guest House"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Anna K. of Gdynia, Poland
Reviewed:   February 26, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in very comfortable apartment at Via Bixio. The room with a little bathroom was very clean and really nice, there was an air condiitioner also. The owner of he flat was kind and helpful. We had a really enjoing stay there.

"Comfortable Place in Rome"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Carlos S. of Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed:   November 30, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A comfortable apartment with a shared kitchen and bathroom located on Via Maquiavelo street between Colisseum and Termini Rail Station.

Quiet by night. Cable TV. Nice breakfast.

Thank you Walter.

"cheap hostel for young travelers"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Yvonne W. of taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed:   September 7, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
cheap basic hostel for young travelers, but there're better value options in the city


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 38 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us