Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.4
 Total  4.4

"charming, quiet and warm"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Ricardo R. of Bogotá, Colombia
Reviewed:   July 9, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
this charmog hostel, with a great location near Parque LLeras at el Poblado, is a small, quiet and budget option when travelling to Medellín; conveniently located in a nice commercial area, in front of a little natural park with a little creek of pristine waters and local vegetation, with bus lines and Poblado Metro station nearby; is an excellent optipn when travelling to this wonderful city; rooms are basic, but comfortable, acces to the kitchen, computer and Internet, are good plus. Nice and clean, hosted by ower Natalie
excellent option !!!

"Tamarindo Tamales!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Ben G. of Bloomington, IN, United States
Reviewed:   April 7, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2010     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tamarindo was a very comfortable and reasonably-priced hostal in an excellent part of Medellin and the staff went well out of their way to help guests do and see the best things in the area. I was very glad to have stayed there. Also I liked that the atmosphere was very calm and not in any way a party hostal (though there were other interesting people there with whom to socialize if desired). They rent bikes too, which is a definite plus.

"Great place to stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ricardo C. of Stamford,ct, United States
Reviewed:   December 7, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I really enjoyed my stay at the tamarindo hostal get to meet people from all over the world and the host Natalia is a great person allways helping , the location is very convenient close to places to eat and with easy transport I will recomend this hostal when visiting medellin

"Unbelievable 1st experience in a Hostel"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Jason L. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   September 22, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
A friend and I decided to be frugal and stay in a Hostel. It was such a great experience at Tamarindo that we wanted to stay our entire 2.5 weeks there, but we had already reserved an apartment from the States. It is cost effective, in a nice area close to bars/restaurants, clean, and the manager is very nice and informative. We went to Medellin with plans to just explore the city, but left exploring parts of the country through the managers recommendations. I plan to visit again.

"Estadia desde el 18 de julio"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Laura Maria S. of Medellin, Colombia
Reviewed:   July 13, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Cordial saludo,
Hay acerca de 25 personas extranjeras, entre ellos americanos y europeos que llegan a medellin el 18 de julio. Me gustaria saber los precios que ustedes manejan, a ellos les interesa dormir, me pueden cotizar algunos precios de las comidas que manejan, si tienen internet y ya.

"Great Hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Richard B. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   July 11, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hosta lTamarindo is owned and run by the fabulous Natalie, who has Colombian family but was born and raised in USA and is bilingual - the best of both worlds. Natalie knows the city and country inside out and is the most fantastic source of info for your travels and about life!! She is a wonderful person. The hostel has a homely atmosphere, is immaculately clean, has all the facilities you need and is in the best location for night life, bars and restaurants. The grocery store is a few metres away if you wish to eat and cook in the hostel. Transportation by bus and metro to the centre is easy. This is not one of the big party hostels, but it is an extremely friendly ands secure place to stay and from where to enjoy Medellin. Stay there!!

"Un alojamiento encantador y hogareno"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Alex S. of Cleveland, United States
Reviewed:   June 18, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I visited Medellin for the first time at the end of June 09...and happened to find this great hostel. Hostal Tamarindo offers the traveler a great and comfortable place to rest and make ur visit to this wonderful a very pleasant one. It is located in a great area...el Poblado ..lots of lush and green urban setting...nearby great restaurants and nightlife entertainment. The owner of the hostel is very cordial and she will make ur stay a plesant one. She has even designed a tourist guide sheet to help you see and make the most of your time while in Medellin. There is plenty of conveniences at this hostal, such fast-reliable internet, connection on the premises,telecommunication to make calls in/out of the country, laundry service, access to kitchen, etc. Overall the place has a good set-up and very inviting to the guests...making it feel more like home than a typical hostal. I highly recommended it if your planning to visit and/or stay in Medellin.

"Recommend Hostal Tamarindo"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jason C. of Miami Beach, FL, United States
Reviewed:   April 16, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Great hostel with a great host. It was a nice and clean hostel, mostly quiet (it's a hostel, so complete silence is out of the question), and was in such a great location. Tons of places to eat nearby and the host was a wealth of information on places to go and eat.

"friendly tranquility"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   MK W. of Atlanta, United States
Reviewed:   March 27, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I am so glad that I had the opportunity to stay at Hostal Tamarindo, especially after the craziness of hostals in Taganga and Cartagena. Hostal Tamarindo has: comfortable beds (up to this point I had thought that there was a law against them or something), a proper kitchen, hot water, impeccable cleanliness, an adorable hostal dog, her wonderful owner (who is full of useful information, advice, and contacts in other parts of Colombia), a reading nook, and free movies. What`s not to like? Do not come here if you want to party like a rockstar inside the hostal, however. Quiet hours are strictly enforced. But considering that the party district of Medellin is 1 block away, this is actually rather ideal. Go out, have a good time, come back and crash. And sleep soundly, safe in the knoweldge that no one is bringing back their new girl/boyfriend to shag in the bed next to you. Because Natalie would NEVER let them get away with that!

"A great place in a great city"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Cristina C. of Montreal, Canada
Reviewed:   August 25, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Tamarindo is a great hostel with great staff...clean, safe and pretty well located


Previous 10 results  11 - 20 of 20 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us