Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  2.7
 Rooms  2.1
 Cleanliness  2.3
 Location  3.0
 Security & Safety  2.9
 Service & Staff  2.6
 Food / Dining  2.7
 Total  2.6

"Reasonable Accommodation"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Carol W. of Surrey, B.C., Canada
Reviewed:   February 18, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good location if you want to be in town, handy to bus station. Beach and ruins a fair distance away, but taxis inexpensive. Kitchen and breakfast supplies a real bonus. A little noisy after bars closed.

"New Year´s Eve in Tulum"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Camilo L. of Lima, Peru
Reviewed:   January 14, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is very nice and comfortable. It has a swimming pool and a small garden where you can chill around. Also the breakfast was fun, because you can cook your own meal, with all the things that the hostel offers you, like eggs, hot cakes, toats, corn flakes, coffee, etc. The toilets are clean and the rooms cool enogh, so you don´t feel the heat.

"The worsest hostel in the world"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Mimi L. of Ans, Belgium, Belgium
Reviewed:   November 27, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My personnal experience is certainly not the best one I had during my lots of travels in the world. A one in the morning, a young girl came into our dorm and she turned on all the fans. We were only 3 in the room, my friend, myself and this girl who immediately went to sleep with all her cloths on and covered with a blanket.
As I was sleeping at the upper bed, I had the fan 50 cm above my head. It was a huge fan which was making such a noise that I nearly felt down the bed, as I thought I was sleeping near a plane motor.
I kindly asked the girl if it ws ok for her if I turned off the fan and opened the window (it was not very hot during the night). She start screaming and went down to the reception and the guy came to our room, turned on the fan again and said sorry ladies, but this is a dorm and everybody has to be happy. We were only 3 people, my friend is 58, myself 67 and this young girl maybe 23 so she had the right to sleep but both of us did'nt have any rights. So I stand up and prepared my luggage and wanted to quite the place but the guy did'nt want to give me my passport back until we paid for the full night which I did'nt want to do. I of course said that I wanted to call the police and then the manager of the place came out and he gave us an other dorm to sleep in for the rest of the night. Of course, he apologized for his stupid employee but you can imagine I was so nervous that I could'nt sleep anymore.
So be aware that if you stay there, only young and beautiful girls have wrights in this place, other guests are bullshit.
On top of it the place is not clean and not nice at all and the breakfast is very few (1 cup of bad coffee and 2 toast + 1 egg to prepare yourself) but ok it is not expensive. I cannot recommend this place at all and I think there are much better options in Tulum so look around before you decide to stay in this very uggly place.

"pas propre"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Rene M. of montpellier, France
Reviewed:   August 22, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hemispherehostels.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
acceuil agréable mais chambre sale .il faudrais une remise a neuf.

"Good people, Good location, horrible hostel"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Katie H. of Toronto, Cameroon
Reviewed:   February 19, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Met some awesome people at the Weary traveller, but the place itself was horrendous. I had to ask for bedsheets 3 times before they finally gave me some at about 10pm, I had a hard time getting my key deposit money back since the dude working the counter was trying to convince me that I never paid for my bed (even though he personally took the money from me the day prior), their elaborate computer receipt system that they use to keep tabs on your owings makes the simple task of buying a beer take about 15 minutes.....

Other than the location, It was everything I did not want in a hostel.

"Weary traveler... ci sono dei grossi problemi!"

User Rating:  1.2
Reviewer:   Enzo G. of Italy/ brescia, Italy
Reviewed:   September 3, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Italiano-Italian):
Un ostello non è un albergo, un ostello in messico non è un ostello in Europa, gli standard di pulizia ed igiene , sono diversi, ma dopo pochi giorni dei 45 che abbiamo trascorso in buona parte del Quintana roo, chiapas,yucathan e Oaxaca; è emerso quello che pensavamo da subito.... questo è il peggiore ostello che abbiamo mai visto. Non sono schizzinoso né fighetto, frequento per lavoro cantieri edili per buona parte dell'anno, altrimenti non facevo 45 gg in messico zaino in spalla! tuttavia un posto cosi' lurido e male tenuto non mi era mai capitato. La cosa che più mi ha preoccupato solo le 2 ZECCHE trovate nel mio letto la seconda notte. Per fortuna è andato tutto bene, nessuna morsicatura. Per completare il quadretto, il personale alla reception non era mai cortese, le persone presenti in quei pochi giorni, non si sono molto sforzate di voler socializzare con i nuovi arrivati...inglese molto stretto e parlato velocissimo, oppure american slang...sempre veloce... tutto per mettere a proprio agio i nuovi arrivi. f..k ! Quindi dopo qualche secchiata di merda, vi volevo solo ricordare che la guida Lonely Planet, (che riceverà una copia di questo rewiew) non è la bibbia del viaggiatore, in alcuni dei viaggi precedenti a questo ci è stata molto di aiuto e molto precisa,ma con il grosso numero di strutture del Messico, è molto difficile verificare personalmente ogni struttura, e soprattutto se mantiene gli standard negli anni dopo la prima visita. Dopo tutto , il Messico è stupendo...soprattutto nella sua semplicità ed essenza degli stati del centro, che contrastano molto, ma ti riportano alla cruda realtà , dell'opportunirmo e della superficialità che regna nelle zone più " in" del Caribe. Buon percorso

"Error in booking"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Wary T. of Asheville, NC, Mexico
Reviewed:   July 24, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2006     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We weren't able to stay at the Weary Traveler, as our booking was not properly recorded and they couldn't accommodate our large group. We made reservations 2 months prior, but when we arrived we were told that there had been an error and our money was ultimately refunded. We ended up staying at Zazil Kin, packing the cabana with our large group at the last minute during the extremely busy holiday season. The experience overall was very enjoyable, although you have to be flexible and prepared to be shifted to another cabana during your stay.


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us