Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.0
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  3.7
 Total  4.4

"susanna Great Bed and Breakfast"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Norme B. of Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed:   June 29, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Well kept Bed and Breakfast, Plesant and very help full staff, Great location near rail lline and port

"Great little Bed and Breakfast!"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Stephen L. of Gibraltar, Gibraltar
Reviewed:   November 12, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Europeinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stopped overnight in Civitavecchia prior to joining a cruise the next day.'Susanna' is just minutes from the railway station. Trenitalia have a thing about steps you will find! To get to the B&B you go down the flight of steps from your arrival platform and up another flight at the end of the walkway. You cannot avoid these steps as they are the only access from the platforms and to ground level whichever way you go. You will have practice before arrival though as the floor of the trains is about a metre above platform level. Great if you are 56 and lugging 23kilo loaded suitcases as we were! Just a warning! Unlike Trenitalia which doesn't seem to have improved since the 1980's (including it's dirty old rolling stock!) The Susanna B&B was a pleasant surprise! A small establishment it has 4 ground floor bedrooms. The two front bedrooms are ensuite. We had the room on the left. It was newly painted, basically but adequately furnished and above all clean! Breakfast was self service buffet style at the rear of the premises on the right. The owner is English speaking, polite cheerful and helpful. The price relative to other hostelries in the area was great. The next morning it was a 15 minute level walk to the Port entrance this time avoiding Trenitalias dreaded steps!

"Good value, good service"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Vern L. of Ramona, CA, United States
Reviewed:   October 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2009     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The room was small, but adequate and very clean. The owner-operator was very helpful (including picking us up in a auto when we were lost and afoot in the middle of the night in a rainstorm).

We intend to stay there when we cruise out of Civitavecchia next time.

The only problem is the directions -- in the dark it is hard to find, since the sign is small, unlit and behind an awning. Just call, though, and they will help you.

"accommodation in Civitavecchia"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Fernando S. of Marbach - SG, Switzerland
Reviewed:   July 15, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Although Luigi was very friendly, the place is not in best condition. Seems rather long time under construction. We arrived 1 day earlier than expected and for only 1 room with four beds (we were 5 persons) we had to pay the full price.

"Nice Place"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Ron D. of Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed:   November 5, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Europebandb.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Luigi and Susanna were great hosts, their B&B is lovely and clean and our room was large and comfortable. Luigi, recommended places to eat and the best way to our cruise ship,which was in walking distance.

"Comments"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Robert C. of St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed:   November 3, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed one night at Susanna Bed and Breakfast prior to sailing on a cruise. We regret not staying there a few additional nights. We were extremely pleased with the accommodation and the facilities. We were greated by a very charming couple. I would strongly recommend this B&B.

"Great B&B"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Rhonda A. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   October 28, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Highly recommend this little B&B. Had an ensuite room, very comfy bed, fan, quiet and clean. Fully equipped kitchen and lovely little courtyard. Couldnt ask for more. We only stayed 1 night prior to our cruise. Luigi made us feel so welcome. One word of advice - be VERY wary of taxi drivers. We were well and truly ripped off catching cab from railway station to B&B. Not necessary - we could have walked! DO NOT eat at the Irish pub - nothing but a rip off! Asked for fish & chips and got fish fingers!! We will come back and stay at Susanna B&B when we next cruise out of Civitavecchia.

"COMFORTABLE, CONVENIENT ACCOMMODATION IN PORT CITY"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   PETER C. of SYDNEY, Australia
Reviewed:   October 7, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
WE WERE VERY SATISFIED WITH THE LOCATION (NEAR TRAIN STATION AND PORT), FACILITIES, SIZE OF ROOM, CLEANLINESS AND GENERAL HELPFULNESS OF THE OWNERS. RECOMMENDED FOR INDEPENDENT TRAVELLERS.

"Basic but adequate"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Helen S. of london, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 16, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Europeinstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Basic but adequate. Ideal for an overnight stay before a cruise. Owner very friendly and accommodating.

"Susanna B & B, Civitavecchia, Italy"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Tom S. of Gainesville, Georgia, United States
Reviewed:   May 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Pilgrimreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed night of 5-4-08. Found room clean and confortable, but simple. Would stay again. Owner very helpful. Left rental car parked on street in front during 7 day cruise without probems.


1 - 10 of 12 reviews  Next 2 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us