Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Great option for NOLA lodging"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Melissa M. of Santa Rosa, United States
Reviewed:   December 2, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Shelby and staff were very friendly and welcoming. The Atlas House was a great place to stay - and save money for the fantastic food and drink that New Orleans has to offer. I'll be back!

"Great place for a short stay in NOLA"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   B A. of Boston, Massachussets, United States
Reviewed:   December 1, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staff: all three members of the staff that I met were very friendly and helpful.

Location: Located on Magazine St, shops and cafe's are within walking distance. The French Quarter is a half hour walk, or you can catch the streetcar which is 5 minutes away by foot.

Facilities: Sufficient overall. The WiFi is weak in the dorms across the garden, but works well in the living room. The restroom/shower in the 4 bed dorm needs to be shared with another 4 bed dorm. So when it's fully booked you need to share 1 bathroom with 8 people, which can get busy in the mornings.
If you have a bike, you can safely park it in the garden of the hostel.
The breakfast consists of 2 pancakes and coffee, both very nice and a good start of your day.

Safety: the hostel is on a quiet residential street which felt very safe. Walking home at night from the French Quarter you pass under a dark highway bridge, which might feel unsafe. I had no troubles there, but I can imagine that someone would rather not walk there. The streetcar or an taxi is a safe alternative.

Overall I would recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

"Great Hostel!"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Andrei H. of Nashville, United States
Reviewed:   November 25, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Atlas was accommodating and inexpensive, at least on Tuesday night ;)

"Great experience at Atlas House!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Kaitlyn R. of Nashville, TN, United States
Reviewed:   November 6, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Excellent experience at Atlas House with my brother! They were so welcoming and kind. The rooms were clean and well-kept. We would definitely stay there again!

"Tolles Hostel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jennifer S. of Giessen, Germany
Reviewed:   November 6, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Es war super schön im Atlas House. Die Lage ist echt super alles schnell erreichbar. Super nettes Personal. Zimmer war sauber auch das Bad. Die Atmosphäre im Haus ist echt super schön.
Die pancakes Morgen und der Kaffee waren auch super.
Kommen gerne wieder.

"Amazing guesthouse!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Kathleen J. of Toronto, Canada
Reviewed:   November 5, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I saw a lot of guesthouses but this one was really great! The staff is amazing! They really care about you! I felt like home! Thank you so much Omar, Leo, Johanna... Thanks to you I really enjoyed my trip in New Orleans! Take care!

"Awesome time in New Orleans"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Amanda W. of Carlsbad, CA, United States
Reviewed:   October 26, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at the Atlas house with a friend and we had an amazing time. The people there were very friendly and told us some cool things to do and how to get around. It is very easily located to the street car which makes getting around super easy. They were also very cool about letting us cancel our last day because we had to head out early. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, I would definitely stay there again.

"international"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Renzo S. of pass christian ms, United States
Reviewed:   September 21, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I really like the international flavor of the place. It is clean and close to the places I like to visit. Within safe walking distance of the french quarter, avenue pub, courtyard brewery, urban south brewery, and magazine street with its funky stores and eateries.

"Awesome Hostel!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sophie T. of Delavan, United States
Reviewed:   September 16, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I traveled with a friend through America and we stayed in New Orleans for 3 days and it was definitely my favorite city! And that's because of the hostel. We met so many people from differen countrys and spend the whole weekend with them. Probably the best hostel I've stayed in so far. Would always come back. And the pub crawls are the most fun!!

"Great spot close to French Quarter"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Greg G. of KwaZulu Natal, South Africa
Reviewed:   September 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is a great, affordable accommodation for those staying in New Orleans. We booked at very late notice but we were welcomed by friendly staff.


1 - 10 of 155 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us