Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Just lovely... Quite a positive experience."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dandy W. of Portland, United States
Reviewed:   May 17, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
What a great time! From the moment I walked up until the moment I packed up and left, I felt at home with a family I didn't know I had.

Shelby runs the joint and it was always super clean and tidy, a lot of which she does herself. She has a team of wonderful volunteers and work exchanges that help keep the place moving and exciting. All of the volunteers knew cool places to explore in the city, as well as nearby, and I met countless new people during my stay. There was not one person I met that worked there who was rude or negative & it pretty much made my whole stay.

While there was never a dull moment when the hostel-goers got together, I found that the space was also very friendly to taking a daytime nap or taking a little time for myself in my bunk. The rooms are pretty much always air conditioned, but when they're not, the common spaces are set up with fans and sofas to experience a true Southern lazy day.

Truly grateful for stumbling along this place. Best price in town, free breakfast, and great atmosphere. Will definitely be coming back!

"Great stay!"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Maura T. of Newmarket, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   May 16, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Me and my two sisters stayed at the Atlas House for 4 nights in April. All the staff were incredibly helpful, and very friendly. Our time was mostly spent outside of the hostel but while we were there it was great. The area is close to shopping, great food, bars, and lots of sights. We received some great recommendations from both their chalk board and the staff.

We stayed in private room in the back house, which was roomy enough for three and had its own bathroom. The only issue we had was that the Wifi does not work in that room, so we would have to return to the front house to go online at all.

Overall was an amazing trip, and a great place to stay.

"nice stay"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Rebecca M. of IL, United States
Reviewed:   May 2, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was pleasantly surprised by the stay. I'm glad rooms are limited to 6 beds. Our room had an ample closet so that we could keep our stuff out of the way. Lockers in the room meant that I could lock up anything I was worried about. I wish the bathroom had appeared a little cleaner and wish the toilet flushed completely. Staff were nice and helpful. I'm not a huge fan of pancakes so I wish there had been other options for breakfast. But overall it was a pleasant stay.

"NOLA"

User Rating:  3.4
Reviewer:   Jasmine T. of Illinois, United States
Reviewed:   May 2, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was a good stay.

"Weird place"

User Rating:  2.4
Reviewer:   Danielle D. of Oakland, United States
Reviewed:   May 1, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Two of the employees told me two different check-in times. The bedrooms are hot as hell with five other bodies in there. No amenities.

"Book Your Stay at Atlas House!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Dara O. of Tallahassee, United States
Reviewed:   April 25, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Atlas House is located in New Orleans' Central City, a 20-minute walk from where I attended the 2018 National Planning Conference at the Morial Convention Center. From the moment I checked in to the hostel, which I was able to do early, I knew I had made a good decision. Shelby, the owner, and Julie, a Danish work-stay employee, gave me a tour and showed me to the giant private bedroom and bathroom I had reserved. Shelby was super flexible in allowing my two friends also attending the conference join me in my room last minute. She gave awesome food suggestions and the hostel's location allowed me to walk to many amazing restaurants (I recommend Green Fork for breakfast and Lilly's Cafe for an exceptionally scrumptious Vietnamese lunch or dinner). Such a walkable area! I felt safe at all times of the day and night as many of the surrounding properties appear to be used as Air Bnb's. The hostel is a $7.50 Uber ride away from downtown if you don't want to talk, but walking is so convenient from this location! Each day, Atlas House offered me pancakes, coffee, and great conversation from its employees. I loved the camaraderie and will definitely be staying again!

"Lovely stay"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Malu C. of Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   April 8, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Friendly place, cool staff, clean facilities and great location. Would be great to have some variety with breakfast (toast or juice or whatever).

"Amazing staff, location, and locals!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Leo M. of Saint Paul, United States
Reviewed:   March 19, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was here for a music festival, but I sure enjoyed more than half of my time in New Orleans at the Atlas house! Joe welcomed me in with a swift tour. Made my way to Burbon street, and came back to the hostel safely. I loved meeting everyone there! Everyone has an amazing sense of spacial awareness.

"Staying at Atlas"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Aliyah O. of Orange, United States
Reviewed:   March 19, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Staying at the Atlas House was overall a wonderful experience. The staff were kind and accommodating, and the pancakes they made us for breakfast every morning were delicious!

I think my only idea for improvement would be to clean up the shower areas. Taking the blue mats out from inside the shower would help with hygiene, and it should be recommended that instead folks bring their own shower sandals. Other than that, things were clean, beds were comfy, and the house is in a great location.

"Fantastic!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   William M. of Miami, United States
Reviewed:   March 18, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was wonderful. The hosts were very helpful and kind, and I would absolutely stay here again next time I am in New Orleans. Very affordable, very clean, and the guests were wonderful too.


1 - 10 of 171 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us