Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.3
 Rooms  4.8
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.7
 Total  4.5

"Bizarre experience"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   G T. of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   March 1, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Having booked at Tanita (Riverside) Resort, we were picked up by the guest house owner who very politely informed us that he was having electricity problems and we could not stay at his place. Instead, he had found us "equivalent" accomodation. We were driven to a beautiful, very remote, very empty resort far away from Chiang Mai, far away from the river and with no conveniences in sight except for little wood-carving shops. After some research we understood that we were in Ban Thawai, an artisans village more than half an hour drive from the city. The hotel staff arrived on their respective mopeds shortly after we arrived and were very helpful, fixing us a meal at short notice. However, we felt very isolated and we left the next morning to go back to our much liked guesthouse in Chiang Mai (highly recommended Sri Pat Guest House). At least this will make an interesting travel story, if somewhat bizarre!

"tanita resort"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sammi L. of essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   December 18, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
me and a bunch of girls recently stayed in the tanita resort while exploring chiang mai and found it to be the most wonderful experience!
We were met by the owner Tanit at the airport for pickup and taken to the resort where we were given a really sweet welcome drink and the usual they helped us with the suitcase.
it took about 30mins to get there from the airport, and we were wondering whether we would like it or not as it seemed so far, but once we got there, we were absolutly mesmerized by the beautifuil surrounding of nature, the traditonal huts, all the ornaments and even a swimming pool!! so to speak we completely forgotten about the distance, but that really wasn't so important as the sweet owner more then made up for it by being so pleasant and always offering to take us into town when we needed to... taxi fare were very cheap anyway it was about 200 baht which was probably around £3 tops!
We only stayed in chiangmai for 3 nights, which was really a shame as i was really beginning to like the lifestyle there in the hut, feels liek im living in the jungle, it was so cosy at night too, cos there was a huge balcony area where there was this big table that all us girls would gather around at night to tell ghost stories, have dinner, drink or play card games and chat the nigth away...( and you definitely should try out the cooking there, absolutly delicous, made by mr tanit's wife and the staff mmmm...)
I definitely recommend anyone going to chiang mai to give this place ago, the owner and staffs were all so friendly, they were very personable and made the whole trip and stay there extra pleasant!

"A true taste of Thailand not to be found in a hotel room."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mike J. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   October 17, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We did not know what to expect when we booked our stay. All I knew was that I wanted something a little different from the normal hotel room. Boy, were we pleasantly surprised! We rented an entire teakwood house surrounded by lush vegetation with a great view of the Ping river. In the house we had the choice of an air conditioned bedroom, or a traditional Lanna style room. We chose to be a little adventurous and stay in the more traditional rooms of the house without the air conditioning. Although it was mid August, we never had trouble sleeping as it cools down at night. It made us feel like locals. It was so quiet and serene. I will never regret choosing this accommodation over a traditional hotel. It helped to set an authentic and inspiring tone for our entire Thailand trip.

The resort owner (Tanit) takes time to ensure that every guest is taken care of. We had meals prepared by the resort delivered by request at our specified times to our private downstairs dining area. Sometimes we chose to eat our meals in town. Tanit is happy to arrange transportation for you. For two or three days we even arranged for a private car and driver. It was inexpensive and I would recommend this to anyone. We got to see and do things that we never would have found on our own.

If you visit Thailand and want a quiet place for your stay, consider Chiang Mai. If you choose to visit Chiang Mai, choose the Tanita Resort for a quiet, out of the way stay. You will gain a true taste of Thailand not to be found in a hotel room. The resort will spoil you rotten.

"Best place for our group"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Mof U. of Uthai Thani, Thailand
Reviewed:   October 14, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We have training for our work at Chiangmai. We choosed Tanita Resort for save our money because it has very big house for 22 persons to stay in 2 house. First day the another house already have guest from Australia. When we stay for long time, we fill good because it look like our home around with nature and river view. We swam in the noon and it not too hot because big trees aroud the swimming pool. We're very happy with teak houses in North Thai style.

"Lovely House in Chiang Mai"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jutamas T. of Khon Kaen, Thailand
Reviewed:   October 9, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My Cambodian friends and I went there mid of August. Seven of us rent the whole teak house like a family. It was so nice, waking up early morning with the noise of birds. When we walked out from the bed room, the first thing to see is the Ping river in front of our house. We swam in the swimming pool before Thai style breakfast. At night time after exploring Chiang Mai city, we had a great sleep without any noise of cars disturbed us.

It was such a great time there. If we have time we will definately go back there again.

"Peaceful and relax"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sopon T. of Washington, United States
Reviewed:   October 1, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2006     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Atmosphere and friendly service. The place is silent and good for relaxation. It is close to the local market. So we close to the local people and don't feel like isolation. The room is cosy and clean.


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us