Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.7
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.1
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  3.9

"court sejour a bangalor"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Clivaz C. of vaud, Switzerland
Reviewed:   January 20, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Sumanjay homestay est tres bien situé dans bangalore en étant juste a 10min a pied de la MG road tout en etant dans un quartier super calme avec un tres beau petit marché local a deux pas.
Ce que nous avons surtout apprécié c est la qualité de l accueil. En effet le couple est present pour le petit déjeuner indien délicieux entre autre.
Ils nous ont donné de bons tuyaux pour notre voyage et il y a a deux bloc de chez eux une agence de voyage ou l on peut réserver nos billets de bus et trains!un très bon restaurant pas cher se trouve tout près avec une bonne ambiance sur une terrasse couverte.
Les chambres sont très simple mais fonctionnelles. Le prix est un peu élevé en rapport avec la qualité du couchage mais l ambiance a plus que rattrappé cela est reste donc une bonne adresse.
Christine, marie-Hélène

"Mozies Galore"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Luis S. of Darwin, Australia
Reviewed:   January 16, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   January 2009     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The rooms is a bit groty, the mozie net was broken so we had to sleep in the couch...pretty bad for the price we paid...we could get much much better...friendly family and nice breakfast tough.

"DISAPPOINTING"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   Wang W. of CHENGDU, China
Reviewed:   July 6, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Non existent service. Not fair in cancellation or change of days

"Great hospitality"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Christine W. of Neerach, Switzerland
Reviewed:   February 9, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Sumanjay Homestay is an authentic home of a middle class Indian family, centrally located in a safe, quiet and pleasant neighbourhood with lots of shops near by and only about 1 mile from the city centre and MG road. The standard of the rooms is very, very basic but clean and they all have en suite bathrooms with western toilets and warm showers. I hate to say that I was a little disappointed when I first saw one of the rooms. No comfort, just an old shelf and narrow beds without a real mattress and not very nice bedding. Im glad I brought a self inflatable trekking mat and sleeping bag along and thus managed to make it cosier for my old bones. (I guess this is not a problem for most of you, who prefer hard beds.)
After all, I stayed even longer than I had planed and the reason is; Sumathi and her husband, are lovely and helpful people and they do everything to make you feel at home and happy. The communication with them was very inspiring and the meals they serve are absolutely delicious.
I highly recommend Sumanjay Homestay for short and long stays, for Families and Singles, Business people and students, anyone who appreciates a homely place.

"Stay At Sumanjay"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Matthew R. of Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   November 22, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I highly recommend staying at Sumanjay Homestay when passing through Bangalore. We only stayed 1 night but, We were met with a very warm welcome after a long flight. The rooms are sparse but clean and tidy. The food was excellent and varied. I will stay again there next time I am in India and Bangalore.

"the wonderful sumanjay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ulrich D. of heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed:   August 31, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We (myself, my wife and our daughter) stayed at Sumanjay Homestay for a couple of days and it was a
wonderful, indeed a homely experience. Miss Sumathi is very friendly and open minded like her family members whom we also met occassionally at the rich breakfeast table.
She also provided tasty dinner and we felt almost like family members, taken care of and provided with all useful informations about everday life in Bangalore. At the the same time we had all privacy that we needed or wished for.
The place itself is superb, centrally located in the heart of the city, yet set in a quiet and very friendly neighbourhood. Money exchange, medical care, taxi service and sim card dealers are just across the next corner.
We enjoyed every moment of our stay, we made friendship with some of the family members and highly recommed the place to everyone who whishes to feel at home in Bangalore rather then as a lonely traveller.

Thank you to Sumathi, to her husband and all others, in particular Suresh - see you all back soon, Ulrich

"A wonderfull time at Sumanjay Homestay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jennifer M. of Stralsund, Germany
Reviewed:   August 16, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
if you really feel like experiencing an Indian modern family than you should come and stay with Sumanjay, but if you feel just like to stay in a safe and clean place and enjoy great Indian food, than you are right as well. Sumanjay homestay gives you both. Your privacy and a family life if you wish. Sumathy, your hostmum provides very good travel advices and information about bangalore. Her shelves are filled with Lonley Planet books and other readings to comb through. She also offers guided tours to places within the southern part of India and with stays in luxury class Hotels for a really reasonable price. (I experienced a tour to Coorg!fabulous!)


1 - 7 of 7 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us