Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  1.0
 Rooms  1.4
 Cleanliness  1.4
 Location  1.0
 Security & Safety  1.0
 Service & Staff  1.0
 Food / Dining  1.4
 Total  1.3

"Echte AFRADER"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   P M. of H, Netherlands
Reviewed:   February 15, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Europebandb.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dit was het slechtst flat hotel ooit. Dit uiterst klein en miserabel flat is zijn geld niet waard. Geen enkele service, geen ontbijt, geen lift, geen bewaking, ver van het centrum. Sultanahmet Suites ligt boven op een zeer steil hellende. Een drukke weg. Dit flat ligt daarnaast in Kadirga en niet in Sultanahmet.

En dan nu de eigenaar. Hij is zeer onprofessioneel, heeft een kort lontje, niet vriendelijk, zeer chagrijnig, eerder onbeleefd, onbeschoft en totaal niet sociaal ingesteld. Hij maakt je verblijf tot een hel.

Hij gaat samen met zijn vrouw je bedreigen als je telefoontjes pleegt en ook wanneer je slechte recensie achterlaat. Niet eens een woordje van excuus.

De prijs kwaliteit verhouding is zeer slecht.

Zelden heb ik een hotel gezien dat zo slecht is. Na mijn mening is Sultanahmet Suites dus een echte AFRADER. GA HIER NIET HEEN!!!

"BIG NO NO !"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   M K. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 11, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stay away. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my life. What should I begin with? OK, the owner was terrible. He seems good at whining and complaining, but lacks ability to care for customers. He can be exremely rude and condescending. He quickly loses temper and raises his voice. He can be totally unreliable. He forced us to check out as soon as possible even though a late check-out had been agreed to. He just doesn't care. The rooms are simple, manifest frugality of the owners, and not cleaned every day. Bathroom is dirty and small, without a bathtub. Location is terrible. This hotel is 1-star quality. Just don't go there.

"Warning!"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   Deniz L. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   January 10, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
First of all I strongly recommend you do NOT go to Sultanahmet Suites. This is an apartment building with no staff. I just found the owner, who shows up sometimes during the day, and a part-time cleaning lady. At night, there is absolutely nobody to take care of the guests. There are 4 rooms, one each from 2nd to 5th floor, but there is no elevator. There is no bell boy. So, you need to carry your own luggage and go up narrow stairs. It offers no service except for cleaning. No front-desk, no common area to hang around, no breakfast, no room service, no gym, no housekeeping, no telephone or a desk in the room, you name it. There is no other facility than the room, and, without any staff, there is absolutely no service offered here.

They call themselves a 4-star hotel, but its certainly not the case. They are far from what a 4 star hotel should be. They deserve no star. But, even so, I think all the guests should be respected and treated as valuable guests. The owner just cannot do that. He was rude and hostile. He yelled, harassed and insulted guests. He looked unhappy with life. He even threatened a guest who wrote a critical review.

I have visited a lot of countries, and stayed at lots of hotels and hostels. This was the worst experience I have ever had. My sincere advice is "Don't stay at Sultanahmet Suites". You can easily find much better accommodations in Istanbul. You should enjoy a trip that is filled with joy, and not with disputes and threats. Dont let anyone intimidate you or ruin your holiday. For that reason, I advise you to avoid Sultanahmet Suites.

"Not very good"

User Rating:  1.4
Reviewer:   ABCD E. of NY, United States
Reviewed:   November 1, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My advice is consider somewhere else. This apartment is low value for money. The male owner is rude and yells at clients. In addition, this apartment is far from any tourist destinations. It takes at least 20 minutes to 30 minutes of cliiming up steep hills, because this is at the bottom of them. It is quite troublesome to get around on foot.

The price is not worth for the room itself, which is OK for 2-3 people, but not for a family with 2 or more children. Most of the time, there is noboedy in the apartment, so it is not very safe. No elevator.

Thank you.

"Don't stay - dangerous!!"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Anonymou S. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   August 24, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Europebandb.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were yelled at, harassed, insulted and intimidated by the owner of Sultanahmet Suites. Then, after I wrote about this on tripadvisor, the owner called me at home, shouted and threatened to put me into a trouble.

The owner threatened, "I tell you something. I will go to your embassy. I have all the copies of your e-mails and everything. You only have 48 hours to clean up what you have written about me to tripadvisor. So you either do that, or I will be a trouble for you." (tape-recorded)

Then he and his wife persistently called my friend at work. They kept calling him about a dozen times, and repeatedly harassed and threatened him. They terrified my friend with a threat of a lawsuit.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us