Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.4
 Security & Safety  4.7
 Service & Staff  4.8
 Food / Dining  4.1
 Total  4.4

"NOLA Jazz house"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Bethany C. of Athens, Ga, United States
Reviewed:   May 15, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This was a lovely and clean place to stay and the staff were super super helpful and welcoming (especially Jay!). They gave us a lot of information of where to go visit and where locals go too (so we didn't just do the usual tourist stuff). This is also a really good location and its easy to get to the French Quarter from here, there is also lots of food places nearby too. I would highly recommend staying here.

"Very lovely"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Hattan B. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   May 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Loved our stay.. A lot of very nice small details all around.
Very helpful staff.

"Highly Recommend"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Sabrina H. of Albuquerque, NM, United States
Reviewed:   May 10, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is a really great little hostel. I have spent many nights in hostels throughout the US and Latin America, and this one is good. Very friendly and accommodating staff, good breakfast, printing service (allowed me to print some of the chapters I needed to read for school), a nice patio, and spacious bathrooms with good showers. Also incredibly affordable! Also appreciate that there are ample electrical outlets in the room.

"My visit on 1/27 to 1/29"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Amos H. of Saddle River, NJ, United States
Reviewed:   April 14, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place was awesome. Friendly staff. Perfect place to stay overnight while in New Orleans, relatively quiet location.

"Great stay at NOLA Jazz House!"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Michaela L. of Boston, MA, United States
Reviewed:   April 13, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My cousin and I stayed at the NOLA Jazz House for three nights and had a great time. We shared a private room with bunk beds, which was perfect for us. We didn't spend much time at the actual hostel, we were mostly there briefly in the morning and when we got back from a day exploring the city.

The hostel is just steps away from the trolley, which is a really easy and affordable way to get to the French Quarter or the Garden District. We were also within walking distance to a lot of good food spots, and City Park, which was awesome!

We only had two minor problems with our stay. Guests are provided with one pillow, that is relatively flat/flimsy, which made it a little difficult to get good sleep since our heads weren't really resting on anything. In the showers, the water didn't drain super efficiently, so you'd be standing in about an inch or so of water while cleaning off.

Overall, we had a great stay, and the hostel location and price was perfect for us!

"Great Location for access to French Quarter"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Neil H. of Charleston, SC, United States
Reviewed:   April 11, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very satisfied. Perfect location with easy access to streetcar and short ride into French Quarter. Clean facility with friendly knowledgeable staff. We will be back next year.

"Last option was the best option!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Tiffany S. of Irvington, United States
Reviewed:   March 18, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I waited until the last min to book a flight to FAT Tuesday even though I had missed all the other Mardi Gras happenings. This place was clean, artsy and gave me the chance to meet individuals I would have never gotten a chance to meet otherwise. This was my very first time staying in a Hostel setting. It was safe. And just a streetcar ride away from all the festivities! The bus to the airport picks up right down the street, about a ten min walk with luggage. The bathrooms were clean. And the staff was welcoming and pleasant. They were my last option on that visit just because I had become accustomed to hotels and Airbnbs. But this will most likely be the FIRST option upon my next stay.
Thanks so much for the warm NOLA hospitality. Peace & Light. Can't wait 'till next time!

"Fantastic Place To Stay!"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Sammy L. of Pensacola, United States
Reviewed:   February 28, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the NOLA Jazz House! The people at the front desk were very helpful with suggestions of places to eat and things to do. The trolley literally right out the front door of the hostel was beyond convenient. We loved our stay and recommend to anybody and everybody!

"Amazing friendly hostel"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   John L. of Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 23, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Stayed here for 5 days, really friendly hostel spotless clean. Great staff very helpful with places to go. Streetcar stop is directly outside the hostel

"Saved us!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Felix J. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   February 21, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Andrew and Jay at NOLA Jazz House New Orleans totally saved my partner and I. We were staying in the crappy Airbnb above a 24 hour bar in the French Quarter (Don't stay at Elysian Fields above Mags Bar). We were so lucky to get their last room for the last 2 nights of our stay in New Orleans. And it was awesome. Jay took us out to a parade in uptown (we would never have gone had we not been staying at the Jazz house). Awesome group of peeps staying there as well. They have created a really super friendly, welcoming vibe and take care of you. They also all are passionate about their city and sharing the best spots with you. Everything you need is there, including wifi, a computer you can print from, pancakes for breakfast. Stay here. We will on our next visit.


1 - 10 of 193 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us