Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.0
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  3.0
 Service & Staff  3.5
 Food / Dining  2.5
 Total  3.2

"This is the best of the best!"

User Rating:  1.5
Reviewer:   Paula L. of Cork, Ireland
Reviewed:   August 31, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed in Lucky D's for 3 nights and didn't want to leave. The hostel is totally clean, the staff are friendly and hilarious, the atmosphere is very relaxed. The walls are covered in amazing artwork made by guests, friends and staff. There's always brilliant music playing in the corridors, and every guest I met there was so much fun. Free breakfast (in the huge, fully stocked kitchen) every morning, free dinner a few nights a week. A big common room with a widescreen tv and ipod docks. Free internet access and free calls to US/Canada numbers. All in all a great hostel. My only criticism is that if you're coming to San Diego for the beaches, it's about 30 min bus to the nearest one. But it is only 4 blocks form downtown.

"Lucky D's Hostel"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Robert H. of San Diego, United States
Reviewed:   July 23, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had an excellent 1 night stay. The Hostel had a smaller number of people during this time. Everyone of the people I met were wonderful. There were many people from other countries.

The atmosphere, and Staff felt very professional. Clean, clean, clean!

Nice relaxed environment. My only question was, if there were so few people staying, why were we tripled and quadrupled up in some of the rooms? They had many empty rooms.

Anyway, I'd go back at my first opportunity. Thanks, Rob

"Good Hostel"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Paul K. of Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Reviewed:   August 11, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good hostel, excellent downtown location and helpful staff. Much better than the Ocean Beach Hostel which is a dump.

"Good Place"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Dennis D. of Park City, Ut, United States
Reviewed:   December 30, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lucky D's is a great location and has great links to fun stuff.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us