Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  5.0
 Rooms  5.0
 Cleanliness  5.0
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.9
 Service & Staff  5.0
 Food / Dining  5.0
 Total  4.9

"Excellent stay in the rice fields"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Kees F. of Harkstede, Netherlands
Reviewed:   July 31, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Heerlijk afgelegen op15 km van chian mai. Eenvoudigven goedkoop reizen met songtail busje naar cm. Eten vers bereid, heerlijk. Eieren v
an rigen kippen zoals ook de vis uit eigen vijfer. Gastheer is niets te veel en erg geduldig. Neem de fiets voor een prachtige rit. Kost je n8etd.

"an oasis"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Pamela J. of coffs harbour, Australia
Reviewed:   April 3, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2014     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at LGA and Max s guesthouse for 5 nights. I had been working hard as a volunteer in a children's village and was given a wonderfully rest full time at their guesthouse. Lha is a great cook and the food so healthy. Freshly caught fish from their fish dam and organic vegies. What more could I ask for! Very friendly and a cute cat :-) make this a great place to stay for a day or a week !

"We Loved Lha's Place"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Denise P. of Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed:   January 16, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2014     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My husband, three kids and I had a wonderful time staying at Lha's Place. Lha and her husband Max went out of their way to accommodate us and provide exceptional hospitality. We loved having them cook for us at their little restaurant right next door. The teak house is authentic and very well maintained with beautiful views of rice paddies and a local temple. I highly recommend this rental especially if you are looking for a warm, personal touch!

"Wonderfull"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Theodor H. of Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed:   November 25, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Exelent place to stay, unfourtunatly a bit outside of chiang mai, and hard to find for te common txidriver. Max and Lha provide excelent 5 Star service and I'm looking forward to come back.

"Lovely homestay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   B B. of Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed:   August 4, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a wonderful time (one week) at Max' and Lha's place and will not hesitate to come back when we are visiting the Chiang Mai area again. The teak house is perfect for a family with children - has everything you need plus the best equipped kitchen we ever encountered in a vacation house. We enjoyed the beautiful garden and surroundings. Being able to have tasty and great- quality breakfast and dinner at their little restaurant makes it much easier to travel with children. We think the prices are very fair and good, especially since you can see and feel that there is lots of work and heart involved. What makes the place special is not only the idyllic location but the warmth and easygoing of the hosts. We felt very welcome as did our children. We also enjoyed Max' and Lha's insights and stories about life in Thailand and about its culture. And if you need great advice for your stay, where to go and what to see, just ask. Overall, we were very happy to have found this place.

"Fantastic"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Rick S. of Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   January 31, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had a really wonderful time with Max and Lha. They made us feel super comfortable and were ever diligent hosts, helping us out with local advice, encouraging us to go for a bike ride, and instructions on navigating the yellow bus into town. It's super peaceful at their place, and so easy just to relax and enjoy the area. Max has his own tilapia pond, chicken coop, and Lha takes care of the chili plants, papaya trees, and garden. We booked the guest house out back, so were able to cook when we wanted, but more often than not, we enjoyed Max and Lha's cooking. Lha does the Thai food (excellent) and Max cooks up the western food (excellent as well). I'm not one for spaghetti, but Max makes a superb spaghetti and meatballs. Breakfast is truly epic - make sure to have the full breakfast with their home made yoghurt and fresh bread. Lha and Max team up on the steamed tilapia (fresh from the pond). Lha stuffs it with lemon grass, coriander and other herbs, and Max uses his 22nd century oven to steam it to perfection - excellent. Besides the culinary treats, their location is a great starting point for a short trip north. Max knows silk the places. I only wish we could have stayed longer - really the highlight of our time in Thailand.

"een TOPPER, goede gastheer/ Gastvrouw, prima gids,niets is teveel."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Fred & Anouk H. of Almere, Netherlands
Reviewed:   October 8, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2012     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Lieve Max en Lha

Allereerst bedankt voor een geweldige en gezellige , onvergetelijke week.

We hebben genoten van jullie gastvrijheid, jullie mooie huis waar jullie zeker enorm trots op mogen zijn,het heerlijke koken door Lha waar ik graag bij keek hoe ze het deed puur om zelf van te leren.

Max je bent een TOPPER, goede gastheer,prima gids,niets was je teveel.

( Je kon zelfs tegen de humor van Fred ! )

We vonden de avonden ook erg gezellig, goede gesprekken voeren, leuke gezelsschap spelen spelen,maar ook gewoon een boekje lezenen niet te vergeten in onze eigen taal TV kijken.

De excursies waren leerzaam mede door de uitleg van jou Max, je weet veel en deelt dat graag.

Lha wat ben jij een lieve vrouw, vreselijk gastvrij,geweldige kokkin en bovenal een MOOI mens.

Kortom wij vonden het in één woord GEWELDIG !!

Heel veel succes in de toekomst !!

Veel liefs en een dikke kus van ons

Fred en Anouk Honig Almere

"Perfecte start van onze wereldreis4 of 5 stars"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Hans D. of Bleiswijk, Netherlands
Reviewed:   April 17, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Max en Lha zijn ontzettend vriendelijke en behulpzame mensen.

Zij laten je gelijk thuis voelen in Thailand.

Tevens hebben zij ons praktisch heel Thailand laten zien door de ogen van mensen die er echt wonen. Een onvergetelijke ervaring en voor ons de perfecte manier van reizen met 2 jonge kinderen (vier en zes). Heel prettig om iemand bij je te hebben die Thais spreekt, want de taalbarrière kan soms best lastig zijn.


Max en Lha hebben een nieuw huis gebouwd met veel luxe

Midden tussen de rijstvelden, met uitzicht op de bergen en naast een prachtige tempel, deze plek wordt helemaal perfect en uniek.
Vlakbij Chiang Mai en toch zo rustig.

Mensen, als je in Thailand bent en je wilt richting het noorden, boek dan een kamer bij Max en Lha!

Bleiswijk Hans,Puck,Petra en Lotte

"Fantastische plaats voor rustzoekers"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   E. L. of Delft, Netherlands
Reviewed:   April 11, 2012  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   March 2012     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bij Max en Lha zijn wij 16 dagen te gast geweest en genoten van hun gastvrijheid wat hen op het lijf geschreven is...lha is een geweldige kokkin die zorgde voor de overheerlijke maaltijden genoten op de veranda met uitzicht op de rijstvelden..

Max is een nette en eerlijke gastheer en gids die je de mooiste delen van thailand laat zien,bij voorkeur waar geen of weinig toeristen komen..

De kamers zijn nieuw en in top conditie hebben airco, wat wil je nog meer...

Halen en brengen naar waar dan ook is nooit een probleem..

Wij waren voor de tweede keer bij hun te gast zie daarom ons verslag van februari 2010...

Wij wensen nieuwe gasten een heerlijk verblijf toe..


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us