Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.6
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.6
 Location  4.8
 Security & Safety  5.0
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.6

"Would stay again"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Margherita R. of Lismore, Australia
Reviewed:   October 11, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2013     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were very happy with service and we were aware that there was no elevator to second floor. Staff very helpful. Room basic but comfortable and ample for we were only staying one night before leaving for the airport. Shower good. Basic Italian breakfast from 8am which was ample at their small bar in house.

"Nice Location and Place"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Justin C. of Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewed:   August 14, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2009     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Our stay in Rome was very nice. The staff of the Inn were very friendly and helpful. The location is great for anyone wanting to stay close to all the major sights but not be by the big tourist hotels and areas. Very close for people arriving and or departing by train or anyone wanting to be close to the station and its metro system for easy access to all the sites in and around rome, about a 5 minute walk, but far enough we never noticed or heard the trains.

Even in early June ( was mid 80s) the room stayed cool and comfortable with a combinations ofceiling and floor fans provided in room.

Remember to bring your own soaps and toiletries as they are not provided like most hotels in the states.

The resturaunt below the inn is nice and quaint. Good place to eat after a long day of traveling, they are open for a short lunch and then re-open for dinner at 6:30 ( time most places open). Breakfast is just as described on the site. Choice of coffee, tea, hot chocolate with juice and a couple of croissants filled with usually chocolate and or marmalade nothing big but a nice way to start day off.

Staff was very helpful with any issues and or questions we had. Upon registering and getting your keys (yes multiple) they give you an map with all the major sites and write down all the bus route numbers to get to and from the inn. Was great we used it for all our navigation needs. All our requests were seen too, they were just very nice people.

We would strongly reccommend this location for anyone wanting an nice base of operations for a fun family trip to rome.

"Independence Square is a good bargain for Rome."

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Linda C. of Imperial, United States
Reviewed:   June 16, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We spent 2 nights at Independence Square in Rome. The accomodations were very clean and in close to the main train station. It was very easy to get to from the airport and easy to catch buses or subways to another destination. Our room was on the 3rd floor, luckily we had packed just a small overnight bag. The family own the restaurant downstairs and the food was very good. There is also a market and many other restaurants nearby.

"Couldn't have asked for more!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Steph S. of London, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   February 15, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This place was great. Perfect location for sight-seeing Rome. The room was clean and suited our needs. The service was exceptional. Was given so much help and advice the moment we arrived. The best tour advice we could ave asked for. The Inn was so close to termini the main station we walked past it thinking it must be further! This is a great place to stay, I highly recommend it.

"A Gem"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   M S. of newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 27, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My partner and I stayed at Independence Square Hotel for 2 nights in Spet 07 while on a back-packing holiday in Italy. We were attracted to the hotel by the price and it's location, around the corner from Termini station.

This hotel is an absolute gem and I cannot recommend it enough. The building itself and all the rooms/facilities are well presented, secure and comfortable. Pino, who greeted us at the hotel was also a great, with lots of suggestions for things to do/see and looking after yourself in Rome.

It's location near the Termini means you can reach anywhere in the city reasonably quickly by metro or foot.

The restaurant downstairs also offers 10% off for guests at the hotel and was a great place for a bottle of wine and food after a long day in the city.

All in all an excellent place to stay and one I'll be using again if I return to Rome.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us