Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.7
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.1
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  3.9

"Awesome stay!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Tereza N. of Raleigh, United States
Reviewed:   August 16, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Everyone was super friendly. Room and bed were clean. Great for a night sleep. Rooms are super tiny.

"Not worth the money"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Maria H. of Olympia, WA, United States
Reviewed:   August 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The hostel is not staffed from midnight until morning. During this time there were numerous people in the hostel well into the wee hours making lots of noise (as in party noise). Not sure they were actually paying customers of the hostel. The conversations could be heard verbatim through the walls. In a nutshell, no sleep until around 4 am. The bathroom shower barely worked. In the second bathroom, one must lean over the toilet to use the sink, next to a large electrical panel. Not sure how that remodel was ever permitted. In short, definitely would not recommend this hostel and would never stay there again.

"A fine place to stay in Santa Barbara"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Brent S. of San Francisco, United States
Reviewed:   August 5, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Good clean safe hostel. Friendly helpful staff. No problems. Close to the beach!

"Upsides and a cost downside"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Jack K. of Margaret River, Australia
Reviewed:   July 31, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I enjoyed my IHSP experience, the staff are excellent and very helpful, the kitchen is small but well equiped and the TV doesn't function too well, but DVDs played fine. I was a backpacker during the mid-60s onwards and, as you would appreciate, 'things' were cheaper then, but value for money. Santa Barbara has become quite expensive, accommodation wise, and my hostel costs were the most I've ever forked out.

"Great place"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Isabela B. of San diego, United States
Reviewed:   July 5, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was surprised with this hostel. Everything was super nice! Veryyyyy clean and friendly environment. At first we were a bit concerned due to the reviews we read but we decided to give it a try. Totally amazed by the hostel. Close to the beach, fair price! I would defo recommend to a friend and I will for sure come back if I have the opportunity!
Only consideration would be to have free eggs during breakfast - omeletes are the bomb!

"Had a great time"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Maria L. of Los Angeles, United States
Reviewed:   June 26, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had a great time at the Hostel. It was clean, walking distance to the beach and downtown. All the travelers that you meet there have a great vibe, and you make friends easily. The only downside is if the back parking space is full, even though the street parking isn't an issue, there's a lot of birds, and they will get your car dirty. My advice is try to arrive not too late at night so you can get a spot in the hostel parking.

"Awesome Hostel"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Marcel A. of Cologne, Germany
Reviewed:   June 25, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Really cool hostel. First and most importantly nice and helpful people working their. Cool vibe in the small but very social outside area.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean and nice. When in SB stay there:)

"Bad place do stay"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Maria P. of Barueri, United States
Reviewed:   June 22, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bad place to stay

"Fun place to hang out and meet others"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Colin K. of Calgary Alberta, Canada
Reviewed:   June 21, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
IHSP SB was a great place to crash for the night while exploring Santa Barbara. It is a small, old house, but the beds are comfy and the company is great. Got to meet a lot of people. The pancake breakfast was great.

"IHSP hostel"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Cecilia F. of Torino, Italy
Reviewed:   June 18, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The staff is very friendly, the hostel is clean. Noise depends on the people you find, but in general guests are asked to respect quiet hours at night, so I didn't have trouble sleeping. You'll find an equipped kitchen and nice pancake breakfast. Only cons one of my personal items was stolen. Keep your stuff locked.


1 - 10 of 180 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us