Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.8
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.3
 Location  4.5
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.2
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  4.2

"Clean, Beautiful, Comfortable!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Melanie A. of Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewed:   July 8, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There are many good places to stay in Antigua. There are very few GREAT places. Casa Rustica exceeded my expectations —clean, comfortable, beautiful, centrally located, and a great staff. Casa Rustica is part of a series of privately owned hotels. Book a room! You won’t be disappointed!

"Great place!"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Charisse M. of Pasadena, United States
Reviewed:   May 9, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The location of the hotel is fantastic! Additionally, the service was great and everyone was friendly. I would have to say that the only downside is that if you are traveling with a lot of luggage, it is not convenient because there are a lot of stairs (no elevators). Also, tourists pay a lot more than locals do which is a bummer. Other than that... we were really happy this place.

"PÉSIMO"

User Rating:  1.8
Reviewer:   Roy C. of Sj, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   March 26, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Haces la reservación en este hotel y te mandan a otro que está al frente, pagas por uno y te meten en otro lugar y eso nunca te lo explican hasta que uno llega al sitio.

"Muy buen hotel"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Luis V. of Sonsonate, El Salvador
Reviewed:   August 5, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
La verdad que mi estancia fue muy agradable, las personas muy atentas y todo el lugar en general muy bonito

"One of my favorite places in Central America"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jessica V. of San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewed:   May 3, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2017     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We've visited Antigua twice in the last two years, and both times, we stayed at Hotel Casa Rustica. The hotel's beauty is an extension of the city's culture. The amenities are great. The staff is so polite and helpful. Easy walking distance to the city center.

If you want to take advantage of the kitchen to prepare your own meals, ask the staff where the local grocery store is. It is very close. Just go out the front door, hang a right, turn right at the corner and go a few blocks. The hotel has great kitchen supplies, so it is very easy to buy groceries and cook.

We were there in May and it was quite cool in the evenings and morning. Since the lines are blurred between the hotel's outdoor and indoor living spaces (few walls/doors), the entire building can be a little chilly. Bring a sweater.

Overall, loved the experience. We'll be back!

"Great location but noisey"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   James C. of Albuquerque new mexico, United States
Reviewed:   March 17, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel Rustica staff and location were great. They assisted us in getting a cab to and from the airport. The rooms were modest and fine for the price. The only thing we did not like is that is located near a busy night club and it was hard to sleep at night with the music going on till after midnight

"An excellent address"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Véronique F. of Grenoble, France
Reviewed:   February 7, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hotel Casa Rustica is very well situated close to parque central. The staff is friendly, willing to help. Rooms are quiet. The kitchen access is appreciable.
The patio is pleasant.
We feel good in Hotel Casa Rustica and I will definitively recommend it.

"Casa Rustica a Gem"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Sherri F. of North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Reviewed:   August 2, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I travelled with my 14 year old son to Antigua. Casa Rustica arranged for a driver to meet us in Guatamala at the airport. It was comforting to get off a plane and be met to get to our first of many hotels and destinations. The hotel itself offers 24 hour security, they speak english and have two lovely dogs that made my son feel at home. The rooms were immaculate and the bathroom also spotless, we had a shared bathroom that was never busy despite a full house. They also have laundry for those who are on long trips and a kitchen should you wish to not go out for your meal.
The staff was very helpful in arranging bus transfers, and we enjoyed the music selection played in the lobby courtyard. The terrace on the roof offers a spectacular view of the surrounding volcanoes. We enjoyed our stay so much we returned weeks later for another stay.
There is no restaurant on site, however Antigua has places to eat everywhere. There are several bars close by, a burger joint if you miss back home food and a hostel across the road for a quick meal. However one of the great things to do in Antigua is wander the streets looking inside the buildings for their hidden gardens and places to eat.

"it has so much potential to be a better place."

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Daralee V. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   July 28, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I titled my review as potential because I saw many positive outlooks about Casa Rustica but saw the need for some major updates. I'd like to begin with staff, although, they were welcoming there seemed to be a lack of friendly approaches from them, but if they were needed, they were there to serve guests, at all times. Second, the rooms are small and there is extra furniture in rooms not needed, such as the little desk/chair/floor fan, should be removed. Since the rooms are tiny I also suggest there being a ceiling fan to help with room space and the humidity of the room. Weekends were noisy, yes, but it's expected. I knew I was staying at the heart of Antigua and I enjoyed all the exposure to it's day and night life, it was beautiful. Third, I was a bit disappointed by the lack of access to amenities. The hotel charged for everything, which is why most of the lounge and lobby area did not feel as homey as it was mentioned in the original description. No coffee, tea or small snacks were offered, the pool table was covered all the time and use of computers needed to be paid for. I found this to be very unfair, many guests are usually in and out of the hotel, providing them with a little service will not create a huge gap in the hotels income. Overall, my son and I had a great stay. We want to thank the security guard for being available during the crack of dawn, as we waited for our tour taxis to pick us up, I want to thank Brenda and Jackie for being so responsive to my emails and keeping our room secured when while away on overnight adventures. Lucky and Shirley -dogs- for taking the time to great us and visiting the room now and then. Thank you Casa Rustica for existing. I wish you all the best.

"A pleasant stay"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   David M. of Chester, CT, United States
Reviewed:   June 5, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at the Hotel Casa rustica for eight nights and had a very nice stay. The bed was comfortable; the staff was attentive, and I loved being able to use the nice big, well equipped and clean kitchen to prepare breakfast for myself every morning and enjoy eating it on the beautiful rooftop deck.


1 - 10 of 129 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us