Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.1
 Rooms  3.8
 Cleanliness  4.2
 Location  4.7
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.0
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  4.2

"agreable"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Antoine M. of Toulouse, France
Reviewed:   October 20, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2017     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Dortoir propre, douche chaude, endroit calme et proche de la place centrale, parfait pour se reposer

"Great place to call home in Antigua"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Jessica M. of Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   October 12, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Fantastic place! Really friendly and helpful staff and a great location close to everything.
They even looked after our bags whilst we did the Acatenango hike.
We loved it here after would definitely stay after again.

"Bed bugs"

User Rating:  2.9
Reviewer:   B H. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   July 19, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2017     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The stay would have been ok except that I got covered in bed bug bites, which made for an unpleasant following week. I contacted the hostel to let them know but they never replied, so I have no idea whether they have done anything about it. We stayed in room 5 so I would avoid that room if possible. We actually stayed there twice a couple of weeks apart (coincidentally in room 5 both times) and I got bites on both occasions. Unfortunately the bites took several hours to appear the first time and I didn't associate it with the hostel, hence why we stayed there again. But the second time there was no doubt. Aside from the bed bugs, the location is really good and it was a reasonable price for a double room with private bathroom. It's pretty noisy though if anyone is talking outside. And there wasn't much of a social vibe when we were there, although there is a nice rooftop terrace. Kitchen is ok.

"Cuidado con el precio!!!"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   Cris R. of Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewed:   January 5, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2016     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Reserve con booking a un precio y cuando llegue al hotel me dijeron que la tarifa había subido por ser en temporada alta de vacaciones!! La atención al cliente no es muy amable que digamos.... en resumen: no me volvería a hospedar ahí.

"Muy buen Hostal"

User Rating:  3.5
Reviewer:   Luis D. of San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewed:   November 21, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
El personal es amable.
El Hostal es limpio y me gustó mucho que tienen agua café y te a disposición y gratis.
Además tienen comida y agua para los perros callejeros.
Y cerca del Parque y los restaurantes. Regresaría con gusto.

"Good location but bed bugs"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   Lisa P. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   November 3, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Hostal Antigua is a fantastic location right amongst all the action but sadly our stay in the private room was interrupted by bed bugs. Both my partner and i have over 80 bites between us on our backs, arms and legs. Christian, the receptionist was very helpful and we thank him for helping us find another hotel. It did cost us more money and there was no reimbursement on our first night or offer to cover the difference in hotel room charges. The rooftop is nice to watch Fuego Volcano erupt.

"Céntrico y Practico"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Arturo F. of Mexico, Mexico
Reviewed:   April 26, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Bastante céntrico, limpio y Excelente servicio, además se encuentra muy cerca del centro de Antigua y a un precio bastante razonable.

"retired"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Kay R. of lacrosee, United States
Reviewed:   March 3, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2016     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
i stayed about 6-7 nights in the hostel. i was very happy. stayed in dorm room of eight. only one complaint: there was a smoke in one of the smaller rooms and i mentioned it twice but don't believe anything was done. they smoked two nights in a row. otherwise, rooms were clean, receptionist most helpful and it was quiet and nice.

"Hostal Antigua"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Sean P. of Anchorage, United States
Reviewed:   June 11, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2015     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The owner of the hostel seemed very friendly and the patio/chill area on the roof was a very nice touch. Due to my schedule, I checked in late and left on a bus early but it seemed like a comfortable hostel at a good price.
I can't comment on the food/dining in or around the area because I was not awake for most of my time there. However, the owner did have Moza beer for sale, which was tasty.

"good"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sergey S. of cancun, Mexico
Reviewed:   November 3, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2014     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
good place, clean, with kitchen, hot water in showers, good wi fi


1 - 10 of 38 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us