Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.4
 Cleanliness  4.5
 Location  4.3
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.4

"Absolutely Fantastic"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Brendan F. of Muncie, IN, United States
Reviewed:   March 19, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Got in and was immediately struck with how relaxed the atmosphere here was. Super casual place with a nice deck out back, full service kitchen (and coffee whenever you want), individual bathrooms/showers. Felt really safe and the staff was SUPER friendly.

"Great Experience!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Zachary P. of Chicago, United States
Reviewed:   March 16, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was in town for the Buku Project and was staying for a day before and after the fest. Everyone was super friendly, and the entire check-in and check-out process was easy peasy. Vanessa gave a cute little tour of the place (the back patio is a super chill spot to hang with new friends!) and made some suggestions as to what to do in the neighborhood (Magazine St. is awesome). She also led a bar crawl the first night which was tons of fun. All of the places we went to were unique and laid-back, which makes me want to return to the Garden District again next time. Thanks to the G.D. House for a great stay! I'll be back for sure!!!

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Corbin M. of Hattiesburg,Ms, United States
Reviewed:   March 9, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My friends and I spent a weekend here and genuinely loved it. The staff is incredibly helpful and pleasant. The kitchen was a huge convenience and saved us money on food. The atmosphere was very laid back yet entertaining and energetic. Great location in terms of close stores and the trip to Bourbon Street is a straight and well lit path if you don't mind a 20 minute hike. Definitely enjoyed our stay. Definetly would recommend this to travelers who don't mind giving up a few bells and whistles to save a little money. Definitely will stay here again if a similar trip is planned.

"Gross never again"

User Rating:  1.3
Reviewer:   Beverly S. of New Orleans, United States
Reviewed:   January 14, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Horrible, mixed rooms are gross, I get getting harassed mmy an older gentleman when I was trying to do work. As a young female it was weird sharing a room with men over 59 and I saw bugs crawling in the how it was just nasty

"Lovely place"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Danilo P. of Atlanta, United States
Reviewed:   January 10, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2017     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel was wonderful! The place was clean and pretty. It`s easy to get to the French Quarter from it, albeit far from it.

"Great Inexpensive Friendly Place to Stay"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Clyde S. of Burlington, VT, United States
Reviewed:   December 9, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have been bringing groups here for many years, and always enjoy my stay at the Garden District. House. The rooms are clean, the location is good, the staff is unfailingly friendly and helpful, and the kitchen facilities and breakfast provided are a big plus. The recent upgrades are a big improvement. If you're OK with shared bathrooms and simple furnishings, this is a great place to stay in New Orleans. It's away from the craziness of the French Quarter, but an easy streetcar ride away and a two block walk to Magazine St. If you're looking for opulence and elegance, look elsewhere, but if you want a nice, comfortable inexpensive place to sleep in New Orleans, this is the place!

"First time"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Kamillia C. of Orlando, United States
Reviewed:   December 9, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Loved the hostel. All the amenities were great besides breakfast but everything else was nice.

"Great guest house"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Victoria M. of france, France
Reviewed:   November 15, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed for a few days in Nola at the Garden house and it was a great hostel.
Location is very safe and nice. The staff was really nice, Vanessa welcomed us with her super smile and good vibes advising us on what to do as well as Pablo who even showed us around.
Thank you all again!

"Great :)"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Hubert L. of Montreal, QC, Canada
Reviewed:   November 3, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Very nice and friendly staff, clean and comfortable room, quiet neighborhood, overall great place to stay!

"hit the sweet spot"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Keith D. of Austin, New Zealand
Reviewed:   October 30, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Provided everything I was looking for. I was older man in group dorm, everyone was quiet, friendly. Staff was great, helpful with local knowledge.
Perfect location, nice neighborhood parks & real close to Magazine St. for alternative entertainment to French Quarter. 5 short blocks to St Charles trolley, $3 all day pass. 1 online computer for guests if needed & wifi which most people used. Was there midweek, so maybe missed party people. Took this over AirBNB & glad I did. Screaming good deal for all you get and I'm an old tightwad.


1 - 10 of 68 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us