Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.7
 Rooms  4.3
 Cleanliness  4.3
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.5
 Service & Staff  4.7
 Food / Dining  4.3
 Total  4.3

"Talk about Family"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Chantelle F. of Sosua, Dominican Republic
Reviewed:   March 26, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Honeymoon/Romance
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The one word I can use to describe this place is...Family. You will feel so at home with the hotel and the wonderful people who run it. Shelly, her Son Ian and his wife Marlena were always so helpful and warm to be around, you almost rather stay and hang out with them, then go and see the country. The room was perfect for our needs and the food cooked by Karen is some of the best in town. I can honestly say it has been one of the best vacations ever. Thanks you guys, we can't wait to come back!

"Soon to return..."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Bennie M. of Edmonchuk AB, Canada
Reviewed:   May 16, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfastreservations.com)
Traveled:   May 2009     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Nice low key place - GREAT BAR & STAFF! Yep staying at this place got my mind thinking its time to move on down to the DR...getting too old for oilfield anyway! No problem with "friends" dropping in for occassional visits, lol, very cool people! The folks there hooked me up with anything I needed from banks to some great restaurants. Hotel staff have a good relationship with the local moto-taxis - who get you where your going (and back!) safely. Had a little medical problem, fixed in a jiff by resident nurse...no charge! A very INEXPENSIVE holiday, I gots to recommend it!

"Always a smile somewhere."

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Myles H. of Tampa, FL, United States
Reviewed:   February 12, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2009     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I met the owners son, Ian via telephone and his very friendly English speaking voice. Planning on traveling from Santo Domingo to Sosua his best advice was 'dress warm' for the local Caribe Tour event. GOOD Advice...I am still thawing out..LOL
Easy, interesting taxi fot the Hotel where I was warmly greeted by the Queen Bee, Shirley, Owner and warmst smile there, next to Sandra, Dave and her wonderful staff. Food was always great. Beverages were always ice cold and the Wi FI works supurbly. A wonderful group of people. With a desire to please and the abundant energy provided this new owner will doo well with this location as they are there to make your stay a wonderful event. Modernization is on it's way to the Coco Hotel from the past reviews. I suggest you come back and see the great changes that these folks are doing to make your stay more comfortable. It's a good bang for your buck and i hope visiting this place brings you lots of good luck. Have fun and tell them I miss their smiley faces. I will be back.

"Amazing Vacation"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Fabien S. of San Francisco, United States
Reviewed:   July 18, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2008     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Thank's to Gerald for taking care of us during or vacation in is cozy hotel.
the room was cool, nice swiming pool and Gerald was so kind and helpfull.
we really recomand the coco hotel to everyone.

"travel, stay and enjoy"

User Rating:  3.0
Reviewer:   Rebeccca F. of Abbotsford, Canada
Reviewed:   February 11, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I enjoyed my stay at the Coco Hotel. It's in the middle of renos and looks like it will be bigger and better when it's done. The "all-inclusive" rate was worth it as breakfast was wonderful followed by pretty much anything you wanted for lunch and dinner from a local restaurant. Really easy to catch a motorbike ride into town or a 15 min. walk. I would stay again and look forward to seeing what Gerry has done with the place. I felt safe, even as a single gal, and could travel about even with my limited Spanish.

"Relax in Paradise"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Jim B. of Graham, WA, United States
Reviewed:   December 27, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Review for Coco Hotel in Sosua, Dominican Republic


I had the tremendous good fortune of staying at the Coco Hotel in Sosua, DR for eight days in December of 2007. I was pleasantly surprised that the owner, Jerry, was willing to pick me up at the airport. He was extremely communicative and responsive while arranging my stay. Jerry is intelligent and sensitive to your needs as a traveler. You will receive as much or as little assistance as you desire.

The rooms are clean and very reasonably priced. My room had a fan, air conditioning, a security box, television and a refrigerator. The pool is well-maintained and refreshing. I recommend a dip in the pool as the stars fade to give way to the morning. Beautiful!

Beyond the wall of the hotel in the back, there lies a secluded beach that few know of and fewer frequent. It is a short walk through the tropical vegetation to your own little paradise. The main beach in town is a short walk or motoconcho (motorcycle taxi) away. The town center precedes the beach. A casino that stays open until 5:00 AM is on the same street as the hotel, a short walk away as well.

The bar in the hotel is well stocked with your favorite drinks, music, a TV and an internet connection. Wi-Fi is available. You may choose to include your meals in the payment for your room if you wish.

The nightlife in Sosua never stops. The discotecas in town go until about 3:00 AM and then you can go to the Casino discoteca floor. Reggaeton, Bachata, Salsa and Merengue pulse through the night.

I would return to Coco Hotel in a heartbeat. Great place, great people! Thanks for the great stay, Jerry.


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us