Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.5
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.6
 Security & Safety  4.6
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.2
 Total  4.5

"Great place"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Minnie B. of Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed:   May 18, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have stayed here three times and will come back. It's clean, spacious and safe. Andrew is very helpful and welcoming. Nothing to complain about. Walking distance to the beaches, restaurants and bars.

"Great Stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Laura G. of Newton,MA, United States
Reviewed:   March 26, 2017  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2017     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Andrew was a great host, the room was large and clean, and the location was perfect- just a short walk from the beach. Andrew set us up with a discount on a glass-bottom boat tour, accommodated an early check-in, and even offered to allow us to come back for showers after checkout if we wanted to get cleaned up before our flight. The AC worked well- 4 of us in a private room, and the showers were hot. It's more expensive than hostels I am used to, but Tobago is expensive generally. Definitely worth it!

"Excellent accommodation for the price!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Holly B. of Woodford, United States
Reviewed:   September 15, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2016     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Andrew was a wealth of information and saved me a few bucks...which I can always appreciate. The house is close to EVERYTHING. You can easily walk to pigeon point or store bay. There is a night club/bar that plays island music that you can see & hear from the balcony. The room (6) was clean and comfortable and right near the kitchen. Which could be a good thing...not having to walk as far to get to the fridge / or a bad thing if there are a lot of people staying and you want to sleep (if that is the case, I would suggest earplugs). Fortunately for me, it was only me and two gentlemen from Denmark (which I also enjoyed meeting people from other places). So again a plus making new friends who have similar travel interests. I would contact Andrew directly and pay via paypal (yes, you can use a credit card even if you don't have an account) because he is a fantastic host and it saves him the commission. Since we are not allowed to post numbers, email, or website, find his page online (it has candlesinthewind.8k as part of the address). Happy travels!

"Great stay in Tobago!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Ralph G. of Brooklyn, United States
Reviewed:   February 20, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2016     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I would like to thank Andrew for his hospitality, advice, driving us around and overall cool vibes. The room was clean and comfy, kitchen and open area was spacious and relaxing. We definitely got a bang for our buck and I would recommend this stay to anyone.

"Andrew was great!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Austin W. of Washington, DC, United States
Reviewed:   February 12, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   February 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Came for a scuba diving trip and stayed here. Location was great and prices were very reasonable. Andrew sits by the door most of the day so you feel safe and you feel that you luggage is secure. My flights got cancelled due to a snow storm but i called andrew and he had a room waiting for me when i came back! Email andrew directly for a friendly response. You can find his email on their website.

"Candles"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Rune A. of Porsgrunn, Norway
Reviewed:   January 31, 2016  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2016     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I had 3 nice days at Candles In The Wind before meeting up with my sailorfriends. It is located in Crown Point in walking distance to facilities like the airport, beaches and water activities, restaurants etc. I enjoyed my stay. The guesthouse is quiet and humble having kitchen facilities, private rooms and dorms. The host Andrew is great. He picked me up at the airport, patiently answered all my questions, and helped me with both ride and accomandation to my next destination in Charlotteville. I recommend this guesthouse to all travelers coming to the beautiful island of Tobago.

"Candles exceeded my expectations"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Valerie A. of New York, United States
Reviewed:   September 25, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My sister and I stayed at Candles for 3 nights. We were a bit skeptical as this was our first time at a Bed and Breakfast, but I am admit we were pleasantly surprised.
First of all the location of this property is in close proximity to everything including beaches, restaurants. The neighbourhood is quiet, our room was spacious and clean. From the moment we arrived to the day we left Andrew the owner/manager was a wealth of information and took the time to chat with us on a daily basis to find out if our needs were met.
Be sure to take the island tour he provides (for $75pp). It is well worth it as he is very knowledgeable about the island and takes you to all the historic sites.
I would highly recommend Candles in the Wind.

"Excellent"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Mike D. of Bath, Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   September 5, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Fantastic place run by Andrew, a wonderfully kind and professional man. 5*

"Andrew is a superhost!!!"

User Rating:  3.7
Reviewer:   PEDRO R. of CARACAS, Venezuela
Reviewed:   August 14, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2015     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Andrew is always willing to help hosts in all they may need, that's invaluable!!.

"candles"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Unapologetic J. of brooklyn, United States
Reviewed:   May 3, 2015  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2015     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I stayed at candles with my husband and three kids an I must say we had a pleasant stay. Mr. Leekit was very welcoming from the start. He picked us up from the airport an took us on a short tour of the beaches. He was very conversational an the kids had lots of room to run. I must definitely say I would stay at candles anytime.


1 - 10 of 79 reviews  Next 10 results




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us