Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.6
 Rooms  3.6
 Cleanliness  3.4
 Location  3.8
 Security & Safety  3.6
 Service & Staff  3.6
 Food / Dining  3.6
 Total  3.4

"felicidades"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   SERGIO R. of BARCELONA, Peru
Reviewed:   July 7, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2010     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Mi familia esta muy contenta, pasamos unos dias inolvidables, el hotel fue muy bueno, el propietario muy amable, atento, muy limpio, super tranquilo, estuvimos muy contentos recomiendo EL BAR DEL ARTISTA PARA LAS FAMILIAS , un abrAZO

"Absolutely fantastic!"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Christian K. of Owego NY, United States
Reviewed:   June 7, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had an excellent time at the hostel.

The host Optime was kind a curtious, he went well out of his way to make sure that we were comfortable.

We were with out our luggage for a few days and he lended us some clean shirts till they returned to us.

He runs a bar down stairs and has karaoke everynight.

Right down the street from a beautiful church and walking distance to all major sights.
Our room was clean and comforatble.

"it's all good"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   David B. of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Reviewed:   May 9, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   April 2011     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
plain and clean rooms in the middle of rome. franco, the host, is a very friendly and helpful person. nice cafes and some bars around. a very good way to enjoy rome. would come again.

"Shady, not worth the money"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Someone E. of Madison, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   March 2011     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
First, this is not a hostel. The owner has an odd bar/cafe that I never actually saw anyone sit in. Next door is an apartment building where the rooms are located. If you want to meet other people, don't stay here. In addition, we arrived in the pouring rain and waited for 20 minutes, wondering if we were in the right place. Just before we gave up, the owner appeared. He had left no sign about his absence or even that this was a hotel.

Second, be warned that the pricing structure here is not clearly laid out. Franco asked us to pay 90 euros per night up front, which we naively did, after asking if there was anything less expensive (such as dorms, since this was purportedly a hostel), which there wasn't. The two-person room we were shown to was barren and grimy, with nothing on the dirty white walls except for one creepy Anne Geddes picture. The shower was just a showerhead and curtain with a drain in the bathroom floor, and the bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned. Shocked that this was 90 euros per night, I went online to look and found that it was actually listed as 50 euros per night on hostelbookers. I asked Franco to refund us the extra money we had paid. He told me that the 50-euro rooms were in a different building and even less nice (have a hard time imagining that). When I asked if we could move, he avoided my question, then finally said they had just been booked. I asked why these rooms had not been listed on his website, and he had no answer.

Also, there is no internet in the rooms, just in the bar/cafe. The door to the apartment does not shut well, so most of the time it is open.

The next time I was in Rome, I stayed at a B&B in Monti (a much better neighborhood) for 60 euros per night. It was clean and they had a real reception desk and an actual cafe for breakfast. I highly recommend staying somewhere that is cleaner and more honest.

"5 days in Rome"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Anna S. of Budapest, Hungary
Reviewed:   October 31, 2009  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   October 2009     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was a very good travel to Rome, the owner of the bar and the accomodation is a great man, he was very very nice and helpful and we spent an evening with his friends having a very very good dinner and we were singing hungarian songs too. The accomodation is good for young people, the hospitality is great, so I recomend it.


1 - 5 of 5 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us