Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.2
 Rooms  3.9
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  3.6
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.3
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  4.4

"MUY MALA EXPERIENCIA"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   AUGUSTO M. of BOGOTA, Colombia
Reviewed:   January 22, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2012     Type:   Family
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
LLEGAR DONDE ALBA FUE UNA TERRIBLE EXPERIENCIA, DESDE QUE LLEGAMOS ELLA FUE POCO AMIGABLE Y MUY NEGATIVA, NOS DIJO QUE TODO IBA A SER MUY DIFICIL PARA NOSOTROS, QUE NO ENCONTRARIAMOS COMIDA NI TRANSPORTE, POR SER 22, 23 Y 24 DE DICIEMBRE. LO PEOR, ES QUE DIJO QUE CASI NUNCA TRABAJABA CON LA PAGINA INSTANT WORLD BOOKING, Y QUE POR LO TANTO NO NOS PODIA MANTENER LA TARIFA ACORDADA CON ESTA PAGINA, QUE LA TARIFA POR HABITACION ERA EL DOBLE DE LO QUE APARECE EN LA RESERVA. ASI QUE PARA NO DAÑAR NUESTRO INICIO DE VACACIONES, LE PAGAMOS LO QUE ELLA DIJO POR LA PRIMERA NOCHE Y BUSCAMOS OTRO HOTEL PARA LAS SIGUIENTES NOCHES QUE ESTARIAMOS EN USHUAIA. ENCONTRAMOS UN HOTEL DE MEJOR CATEGORIA POR UN PRECIO MAS ECONOMICO Y MUCHO MEJOR SITUADO .ELLA INSITIÓ EN QUE DEBIAMOS PAGAR EL DOBLE POR LAS TRES NOCHES QUE HABIAMOS RESERVADO, SIN TENER EN CUENTA QUE ELLA ESTABA INCUMPLIENDO CON LA TARIFA PACTADA CON LA PÁGINA INSTANT WORLD BOOKING. ASI QUE TUVIMOS QUE PAGAR LA SEGUNDA NOCHE AL DOBLE DE LA TARIFA PACTADA. NO RECOMIENDO ESTE HOTEL NI A SU DUEÑA, QUIEN NO TIENE IDEA DE LO QUE ES MANEJAR TURISMO. ADEMAS, CREO QUE LA PAGINA INSTANT WORLD BOOKING, DEBE ESTUDIAR ESTE CASO , PARA QUE NINGUN TURISTA TENGA QUE SUFRIR AL ESCOGER ESTE HOTEL.

"casa alba"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Javier P. of zaragoza, Spain
Reviewed:   October 29, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Espanol-Spanish):
excelente trato y muy buen servico

"A very comfortable and nice place to stay"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Carina S. of Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed:   August 18, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
La casa de Alba was a really lovely place to stay. First of all I should mention Alba herself and her son Guillermo. They are both wonderful people. They are very helpful, funny and warm and make you feel at home. At the same time you will definitely feel like being in a nice hotel when you´ll find a perfectly prepared breakfast in the morning and your room cleaned each day.
I stayed at Albas for quite a while during June this year and can only recommend to visit Ushuaia aswell at this time of the year as in summertime. I loved the cold and the city looked beautiful with snow on the roofs and streets. The Chanel Beagle was for a few days a bit frozen and it looked amazing. There are some very good 4 wheel drive tours you can do around Ushuaia and If you love snowboarding and skiing you can do so only a short way out of town.
It will take you about 15 minutes to reach the main road San Martin and I always enjoyed this very short walk along the Beagle Channel.
Ushuaia and it´s surroundings is a very beautiful place to visit and Albas is a very good, clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Alba's ist wirklich ein wunderschönes B&B mit top Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis!!! Sehr sauber, gemütlich und nichts allzu weit vom Stadtkern entfernt. Ushuaia ist Winter wie Sommer ein traumhaftes Reiseziel mit malerischer Umgebung!!!

"Awesome"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Rachel C. of Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed:   March 5, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hemispherehostels.com)
Traveled:   February 2008     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was a really nice place to stay and we were lucky to receive a room that faced the street meaning we were able to smoke outside at anytime and have our own key. There was a seperate kitchenette and wardrobe area. The breakfast was unbelievable. Loved the atmosphere, however the location is a tad out of town.

"End of the World?"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Leonard H. of Manchester, United States
Reviewed:   January 4, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Ushuaia, Argentina is not actually at the "end of the world." That distinction belongs to Puerto Williams, across the Beagle Channel in Chile. However Alba's is a cozy temporary retreat for any traveler sojourning in this city whether intent on pushing further south or not. Alba herself is a pleasant middle aged woman with a grown son who helps in the running of the Bed and Breakfast. Both speak some English; he more so than she. This Bed and Breakfast is in a home in a quiet residencial neighborhood. The breakfast is ample. The four days we spent there we encountered travellers from around the world. The "matrimonio" we shared was small but not unduely cramped. It contained its own bathroom. The staircase to the upper floors is steep, but poses no difficulty for anyone reasonalbly fit. Accommodatins in Ushusia are increasingly more expensive than other areas on Argentina, but Alba's is moderate in price by comparison to that which some homeownes are asking when converting their homes ro the tourist trade. It is a bit of a walk to town center, but nearby is a full market for those who wish to dine in by preparing their ownevening meals. Alba provides access to her kitchen for these. Alba will book for the traveller any tours they wish to take in the area. Pick uo for these tours is at her door.

"Okay place, very helpful owner, good if you have your own car!"

User Rating:  3.9
Reviewer:   Norman W. of Ushuaia, Argentina
Reviewed:   December 26, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Alba's is not the most impressive place, but if you don't mind your rooms being simple and not especially big you should be fine. The owner is a very nice and helpful woman who takes care of all the problems you might have (we booked a horse-riding tour with her at the same price that travel agencies charge and we were picked up directly at Alba's). Breakfast is nice although a little bit on the small side but you can get more if you ask for it.
One thing that might give you trouble is that Alba's is about 20 Minutes walking from the 'center' (the place were all the bars, shops and restaurants are located) although that is probably better if you plan to rent a car since it is much easier to find a place to park your car at Alba's than downtown.

"Gluten Free!"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Katie C. of Denver, United States
Reviewed:   December 23, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We enjoyed our time at Alba's!
The attic bedroom was so cozy and had a beautiful view. Also, my traveling companion is allergic to gluten (wheat), and Alba made a wheat-free breakfast for her as well as other delicious treats!

We were very happy with our stay!

"A perfect guest house..."

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Rene F. of Frankfurt, United States
Reviewed:   December 8, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
At Alba's we had a wonderful stay: very nice rooms, all perfectly clean, a fine breakfast and a very lovely "manager": Thank you, Alba, for your hospitality and all your help!

"Nice surprise"

User Rating:  4.0
Reviewer:   Anton R. of Udine, Italy
Reviewed:   September 3, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   December 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Alba's was a nice surprise. The house is not very large but you can feel well because the management is very professional e also very kind.


1 - 9 of 9 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us