Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.0
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  3.8
 Location  4.0
 Security & Safety  4.0
 Service & Staff  3.5
 Food / Dining  3.8
 Total  3.8

"Good hotel"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Edward L. of Sydney, Australia
Reviewed:   July 22, 2010  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I cannot understand why this hotel has got negative reviews. It is good hotel and the staffs were really helpful and spoke good english. I stayed in a presidential suite (top floor) with balcony and had no problem at all.

"RUDE & HORRIBLE STAFF IN AJANTA HOTEL."

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   ERIKA S. of FRANCE, France
Reviewed:   September 7, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Like they say in the English language: "Your first impression is your last impression", and Ajanta Hotel in New Delhi truly stands up to this saying. My travel agent in the UK booked me at this hotel and I paid up-front for my stay at this hotel. I was clearly promised (and I have this in writing from my travel agent) a round trip pick-up from IGIA airport and back, but NO driver from Hotel turned up at the airpirt to pick me up. In end I ended up renting a cabbie from airport which ended up costing me: 650 INR - one way - which everyone at the hotel said was a rip-off! The hotel staff flatly REFUSED to reimburse me back for the airport transfer which I had paid up front. Watch out travellers, taxi drivers in New Delhi have a notorious reputation for ripping off tourists and locals alike. At first the taxi driver pretended that he didn't know where Hotel Ajanta was and so he took me through some long circuitous route to add more to my tab fare. This was my first visit to India and New Delhi was my point of entry and he thought I didn't know if he was taking me for a ride - but I had no other option - it was 4:30AM in the morning. Ajanta Hotel has the RUDEST staff on board. The room that was given to me had flies, roaches and spider cob webs in it. Hot water and bathroom facilities were dirty to say the least and towels were never changed after each day usage. The travel agency located inside hotel insisted that I buy some kind of Delhi or Agra package from them. There were just too pushy. After inquiring about prices with some other travel tour operators on the outside, the outside prices were 50% cheaper than this hotel travel agency. Ajanta Hotel in Pahar Ganj is a worst case nighmare scenario for all visitors to New Delhi. Overseas travelers beware and stay at this hotel at your own risk! Travellers can contact me for more details about this hotel.

"Best place to stay in Delhi‎"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sophia J. of France, France
Reviewed:   July 18, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Large Group
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I have just returned from a week's holiday Kerela/Goa in India. I flew into Delhi and stayed at the Hotel Ajanta for two nights, joining a friend who was already there.
The 1 thing to be said about the Ajanta is that the hospitality in budget price is unbeatable. If u r flying into Delhi I would definitely recommend calling the Ajanta ahead of time and requesting a car transfer. Transfer to the hotel from the airport can take up to an hour (as there can be a lot of traffic) so it is very nice to have a private car take you to the hotel. If you want to stay in budget price luxury hotel, I would greatly recommend a room in the Ajanta. The food is extraordinary and the staff are always available.

"Good place to stay"

User Rating:  4.5
Reviewer:   Goraav K. of Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   June 30, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   June 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Centrally located hotel. Rooms were comfortable. Trained staff members. In house foods facility with a good view


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us