Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.3
 Rooms  2.3
 Cleanliness  3.8
 Location  3.5
 Security & Safety  2.5
 Service & Staff  3.3
 Food / Dining  3.5
 Total  3.1

"You get what you pay for"

User Rating:  3.1
Reviewer:   James S. of Brevard, NC, United States
Reviewed:   May 25, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Bedbreakfasttraveler.com)
Traveled:   May 2011     Type:   Senior
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I was looking for an inexpensive room and that is what I got. The room was clean but quite small and a bit spartan. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is close to the main train station, which was a plus, but still a good walk from the old town.

"Lovely place to stay"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Margot H. of Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed:   January 10, 2011  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2010     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We stayed in this lovely Hotel-Pension in December 2010, when we were in Salzburg to see the Christmas markets.
The Adlerhof is a small hotel, so the whole atmosphere there is somehow more personal than it would be in a large hotel. Our room was not too large, but furnished with nicely decorated, wooden Austrian furniture. In fact, it has everything you need for a weekend-stay in Salzburg.
We also enjoyed the breakfast they have, which is included in the room rate anyway. Plenty to eat and choice of various teas and coffee - good!

Location is very central, good bus connections to reach everything. Well, it is close to the train station, so everything around the Adlerhof is rather "modern"; but the historical centre was just a short walk away from the hotel and we also found plenty of restaurants and shops around the Adlerhof.

In total, the Adlerhof is really good value for your money and a great place to stay in Salzburg!

"Avoid this one"

User Rating:  2.0
Reviewer:   Marion K. of Bloomington, United States
Reviewed:   August 20, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2008     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After 20 hour travel from the US we arrived at the Adlerhof, only to be told that there had been some confusion about our request for a room with a double bed. We were assigned this room with two single beds, which would have been ok, except the room was the size of a closet. And it was unbearably hot. In addition, we had called prior to booking to ask about internet access, and were told it was available. Once at the hotel, we were told that to use the internet, we would have to go to an internet cafe across the street. It looked seedy at best, located right next to the erotica shop. The ambiance fits in with the hotel only taking cash for payments. We left after 20 minutes, only to be hounded by the owners for payment. They even went so far to contact our in-laws with a threat for legal action against us in case we did not pay, which we did.

"Avoid this one"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Marion K. of Bloomington, United States
Reviewed:   August 11, 2008  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   July 2008     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
After 20 hour travel from the US we arrived at the Adlerhof, only to be told that there had been some confusion about our request for a room with a double bed. We were assigned this room with two single beds, which would have been ok, except the room was the size of a closet. And it was unbearably hot. In addition, we had called prior to booking to ask about internet access, and were told it was available. Once at the hotel, we were told that to use the internet, we would have to go to an internet cafe across the street. It looked seedy at best, located right next to the erotica shop. The ambiance fits in with the hotel only taking cash for payments. We left after 20 minutes, only to be hounded by the owners for payment. They even went so far to contact our in-laws with a threat for legal action against us in case we did not pay, which we did.


1 - 4 of 4 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us