Hostel Traveler
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.5
 Rooms  3.3
 Cleanliness  3.7
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  3.3
 Service & Staff  3.5
 Food / Dining  3.3
 Total  3.6

"Not really a hostel..."

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Johanna L. of San Diego, United States
Reviewed:   December 31, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The Welcome Inn is not really a hostel; it's an apartment with multiples rooms and a couple bathrooms. The location was amazing because it was right off of La Rambla, but it was on the fifth floor up a windy, tight staircase. The reason the directions say you need to call when you get there is due to the fact that someone has to come over from some other location in the city to let you in. Call as soon as you get to the airport, otherwise you'll just sit outside and wait for who knows how long before they get there.

The rooms were clean and ours had a cute little balcony, so we left the doors open all night for fresh, cool air. The bathrooms were fine, but the shower water gets everywhere!! Get ready to mop afterward. It was a great spot for us in mid-Sept after the worst of the summer heat was over, but I definitely wouldn't stay here mid-summer. There isn't any a/c and the outlets in our room were broken, so we couldn't turn on the fan. The breeze from the balcony was plenty for us though. Be sure to bring your own towels, but they provide sheets.

As I said, you can't beat the location for the price, but I wouldn't stay here again.

"room without window"

User Rating:  3.8
Reviewer:   Nils L. of Darmstadt, Germany
Reviewed:   November 11, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We booked the room without window, which was not as bad as we had expected, because there was an opening towards the hallway above the wardrobe, so the air wouldn't get too bad.
Some of the other guests were quite stupid, because they made lots of noise early in the morning or late at night and also weren't able to take a shower without flooding the bathroom.
There were different cleaning women, one was really good but another one only watched TV instead of cleaning. After we complained about it, she had to come again, so the guests weren't left with a dirty flat.
The beds were really uncomfortable, because the pillow was really old and flat and the bedsprings poked you, so you had to be very sleepy to not be bothered by it.
The kitchen was ok, although we never cooked there, it would have been possible. :-)
If you are you used to climbing stairs, they weren't too bad.
All in all, it's a really good price for being so well situated, and the people running the place are really cooperative.

"i didn't use ur rooms in barcellona"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Edi L. of florence, Italy
Reviewed:   October 27, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Barcelonainstantbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (Italiano-Italian):
You sent me the email for changement of address rooms in the same day that i travelled in barcellona exactly at 16.13 time...
ho w i can look ur mail if i was in train to arrive to pisa airport?
so i lose my money and i don t use ur hotel!
i m very hungry for that couse when i contact the telephone for advice that my flight was late, it was not free, than at 3 at night i try again when i arrive to the door of the old hotel, they said the change of the address, i ask them where and they don t want say to me, so i sleep near the stairs of the old hotel!
it s so amusement!
they don t contact me again,
it s not a good way to spend days in barcellona!
i think this hotel u must remove from ur list!
it s not serious, for the travellers!
in this page i urse all poor, but i never see the room, and i never use the hotel ...security and safety is out dont exit.service and staff bad
and not education there...i think they use to do that w all ppl that come there ...not good at all

"Clean flat central location"

User Rating:  4.2
Reviewer:   Camilla E. of Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed:   September 23, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   September 2007     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Friendly staff and great value. Only negative experience was uneven access to hot water in showers.

"good value for good money"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Katharina M. of Vienna, Austria
Reviewed:   September 13, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Eurohosteltraveler.com)
Traveled:   August 2007     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
had a very good time in the welcome inn! it's located really central and you feel immediately home in the warm atmosphere of the nice little apartment where you don't have to put up with huge dormitories like in other hostels but with nice little and well equipped 2- or 3-bedrooms!
only disadvantage: it's on the topfloor without ascelator - so travel with light luggage ;-)! but overall I can only recommend the welcome inn!!

"From Welcome Inn to Ramblas Room"

User Rating:  4.1
Reviewer:   Ernie Y. of los angeles, United States
Reviewed:   August 24, 2007  (see hostel reviews from Hostelearth.com)
Traveled:   July 2007     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were moved to the Ramblas Room after they had overbooked the Welcome Inn. The new place was nice, probably one of the nicer hostel we stayed in during our trip through Spain. It did lack a staff which is good or bad, depends on the individual. I liked it cause it meant more freedom. There was no internet hook-up or television at the place.


1 - 6 of 6 reviews




HostelTraveler Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us